Nobel Prize Winner 2020

Nobel Prize Winner 2020

Fact DO YOU KNOW:-Who has won 3 Nobel Prizes?

the International Committee of the Red Cross

Only two recipients have won multiple Prizes: the International Committee of the Red Cross has won three times (1917, 1944 and 1963) and the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees has won twice (1954 and 1981).

1.Peace:-INTERNATIONALWorld Food Programme wins Nobel Peace Prize 2020.The World Food Programme, a United Nations body, is the world’s largest humanitarian organisation addressing hunger and promoting food security

2. Literature :-American poet Louise Glück wins the 2020 Nobel Prize in Literature.She is the fourth woman to win a Nobel Prize this year.

3.Physics:- The Nobel Prize in Physics 2020 was divided, one half awarded to Roger Penrose “for the discovery that black hole formation is a robust prediction of the general theory of relativity”, the other half jointly to Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez “for the discovery of a supermassive compact object at the centre of our galaxy.”

4. Chemistry:-The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2020 was awarded jointly to Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer A. Doudna “for the development of a method for genome editing.”

5.Medicine:- The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2020 was awarded jointly to Harvey J. Alter, Michael Houghton and Charles M. Rice “for the discovery of Hepatitis C virus.”


(The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2020) was awarded jointly to Paul R. Milgrom and Robert B. Wilson “for improvements to auction theory and inventions of new auction formats”

Interesting Facts

Multiple Nobel Laureates

The work of the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) has been honoured by a Nobel Peace Prize three times. Besides, the founder of the ICRC, Henry Dunant  was awarded the first Nobel Peace Prize in 1901.

Linus Pauling is the only person to have been awarded two unshared Nobel Prizes – the 1954 Nobel Prize in Chemistry and the 1962 Nobel Peace Prize.

1)J Bardeen-Physics-1956,1972

2)M. Curie-Physics-1903,Chemistry-1911

3)L.Pauling-Chemistry -1954,Peace 1962

4)F. Sanger-Chemistry-1958,1980


6)UNHCR-Peace 1954,1981

Posthumous Nobel Prizes

Before 1974, the Nobel Prize has only been awarded posthumously twice: to Dag Hammarskjöld (Nobel Peace Prize 1961) and Erik Axel Karlfeldt (Nobel Prize in Literature 1931).

Following the 2011 announcement of the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, it was discovered that one of the Medicine Laureates, Ralph Steinman, had passed away three days earlier. The Board of the Nobel Foundation examined the statutes, and an interpretation of the purpose of the rule above led to the conclusion that Ralph Steinman should continue to remain a Nobel Laureate, as the Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet had announced the 2011 Nobel Laureates in Physiology or Medicine without knowing of his death.(Source courtesy website

Leave a Comment